Thread Rating:

dlevinelaw
dlevinelaw
  • Threads: 15
May 24th, 2011 at 1:41:13 PM permalink
I have been deliberating what to do with my student loans.

I have approximately 85,000.00 in student loan debt from law school. I graduated a year ago. The average interest rate across my various loans is as follows: 61,000.00 at 6.5%, and 24,000.00 at 7.9% (Stafford and GradPlus, respectively). The propriety of my decision in going to law school is not in dispute.

The issue:

I am currently in income-based repayment, which, due to my income, is only $10.00 a month (I was unemployed for most of last year). It is re-evaluated annually based on tax return (not balance), and will likely be about $550.00 per month next year. I have no idea what my lifetime earning potential is, and the legal market in Florida (and everywhere else) is oversaturated.

If I can stay in income-based repayment for 25 years, any remaining balance is forgiven (and treated as income for tax purposes), however, if my income increases too much, then my payments will adjust to approximately $1,100.00 per month, and I may end up paying more over the life of the loan that under a traditional 10 year model.

The curve ball: $30,000.00 of my principal balance will not accrue interest the first 3 years I am in repayment, due to the income-based program.

Any advice or ideas as to whether I should throw as much money as I can at my loans now, or just make minimum payments until it is either paid off, or forgiven (25 years)?
rdw4potus
rdw4potus
  • Threads: 80
May 24th, 2011 at 2:25:40 PM permalink
Is there a pre-payment penalty in the income-based program? If not, you've got the best of both worlds - very low initial payments and "free" principal paydowns until the minimum payments increase.