vendman1
vendman1
Joined: Mar 12, 2012
  • Threads: 9
  • Posts: 1034
June 15th, 2012 at 7:09:02 AM permalink
Just FYI, plays are reversed by offical scorers during the game all the time(after a second look on replay for example). But rarely, if ever, after the fact.
Also the play is clearly a hit. The reason Wright barehanded it in the first place is because he knew he had no chance at the runner if he gloved it. It would have taken an exceptional defensive play to get Upton at first. Thats why it's a hit.
WongBo
WongBo
Joined: Feb 3, 2012
  • Threads: 62
  • Posts: 2126
June 15th, 2012 at 7:24:34 AM permalink
looking at the video from a different angle,
i now realize that the ball bounced TWICE,
and was likely moving fairly slowly.
so i retract my original contention that this was definitely an error.
i think it is up to the umpires to decide and call it as they see it.
i still think he might have had time to glove it and have a chance at the play.
In a bet, there is a fool and a thief. - Proverb.
Gabes22
Gabes22
Joined: Jul 19, 2011
  • Threads: 15
  • Posts: 1427
June 15th, 2012 at 7:31:03 AM permalink
Also that guy at the plate, BJ Upton is a fast runner. He has 12 SBs this season, putting him on pace for between 30 and 35 this year
A flute with no holes is not a flute, a donut with no holes is a danish
thecesspit
thecesspit
Joined: Apr 19, 2010
  • Threads: 53
  • Posts: 5936
June 15th, 2012 at 8:02:26 AM permalink
Annoyingly I cant find a clip showing the runner... how close was he to the base when the fielder missed the play?
"Then you can admire the real gambler, who has neither eaten, slept, thought nor lived, he has so smarted under the scourge of his martingale, so suffered on the rack of his desire for a coup at trente-et-quarante" - Honore de Balzac, 1829
Gabes22
Gabes22
Joined: Jul 19, 2011
  • Threads: 15
  • Posts: 1427
June 15th, 2012 at 8:07:55 AM permalink
I can't find one either, but judging by the evidence anecdotelly in the video. It taks a fast runner like Upton about 4.3 seconds to get down the first base line from the point of contact. Where the ball goes off his hand, is about 3 seconds from contact. So best case scenario, he has 1.3 seconds to field, cock his arm and throw the ball covering 120 feet on the money. 55mph is approximately 80 ft/sec. So to get the ball there in 1 second the ball would have to be thrown between 80-85 mph, leaving just 0.3 seconds to field the ball and get rid of it.
A flute with no holes is not a flute, a donut with no holes is a danish
WongBo
WongBo
Joined: Feb 3, 2012
  • Threads: 62
  • Posts: 2126
June 15th, 2012 at 8:17:24 AM permalink
you are right.
he definitely should have bare-handed it.
i think he took his eye off the ball too soon.
i can see why they awarded this as a hit,
but i can also see why some would call it an error.
In a bet, there is a fool and a thief. - Proverb.
slyther
slyther
Joined: Feb 1, 2010
  • Threads: 13
  • Posts: 691
June 15th, 2012 at 8:30:14 AM permalink
Per Rule 10 the Official Scorer gets 24 hours to change/update any scoring decisions. No one else can make changes. Once in a while you will hear about a manager brow-beating an official scorer to change a ruling after a game, particularly if he has a player who is in a slump, etc.

Personally I would have ruled it E5, but I'm not a member of the BBWAA so I don't get a say in the matter.

By ruling it a Hit, the scorer is essentially saying that the only way the play could have been made successfully is if it was barehanded successfully, which is no easy feat. You often see similar rulings when the 3rd baseman has to charge in and try to barehand a ball and miss.
rdw4potus
rdw4potus
Joined: Mar 11, 2010
  • Threads: 80
  • Posts: 7237
June 15th, 2012 at 9:41:53 AM permalink
Quote: slyther


Personally I would have ruled it E5, but I'm not a member of the BBWAA so I don't get a say in the matter.



Are the scorers members of the BBWAA? I'd never thought of them as writers before, but I suppose they do write a version of the story of the game.
"So as the clock ticked and the day passed, opportunity met preparation, and luck happened." - Maurice Clarett
s2dbaker
s2dbaker
Joined: Jun 10, 2010
  • Threads: 51
  • Posts: 3259
June 15th, 2012 at 10:04:38 AM permalink
The way R.A.Dickey is pitching (are you certain this isn't a gay thread?) this season, he may not need any reviews to get his no-hitter.
Someday, joor goin' to see the name of Googie Gomez in lights and joor goin' to say to joorself, "Was that her?" and then joor goin' to answer to joorself, "That was her!" But you know somethin' mister? I was always her yuss nobody knows it! - Googie Gomez
WongBo
WongBo
Joined: Feb 3, 2012
  • Threads: 62
  • Posts: 2126
June 15th, 2012 at 10:09:51 AM permalink
of course this is a gay thread.
it's sports: the ultimate sublimation of aggression and homosexual desire.
j/k
In a bet, there is a fool and a thief. - Proverb.

  • Jump to: