burntthumbs
burntthumbs
  • Threads: 1
November 14th, 2023 at 9:46:27 AM permalink
My first post but have been a Wizard follower for perhaps 20 years!

I just started learning UTH basic strategy and 21 out rule provided on this site and have been practicing with the web-based game here which will tell you when you are making the wrong move. It's my understanding that the suggestion is always correct (but obviously doesn't guarantee a win).

I've had several instances where I'm following strategy but I get the suggestion warning and I don't know what rule needs to be considered to get it right. Here are some examples after the flop where calling was apparently the correct choice:
Hole; Flop
Qh 7d; Kc 10c Jh
5h 9h; Jh Ac Ah
7c 3c; Ac 5c 4d

This is example where checking is correct:
4d 8d; 4c 9c 5c

Post Flop strategy seems pretty straightforward:
Medium Raise: Make the 2X raise with any of the following:
Two pair or better.
Hidden pair*, except pocket deuces.
Four to a flush including a hidden 10 or better to that flush

. Are there additional rules that should be added? 21 out only applies after the turn/river, right?
rsactuary
rsactuary
  • Threads: 29
November 14th, 2023 at 10:28:27 AM permalink
I've had some situations where I believe the guidance is incorrect. Just fyi.
jml24
jml24
  • Threads: 2
Thanked by
smoothgrh
November 14th, 2023 at 11:57:05 AM permalink
The Wizard's basic strategy isn't perfect, that's why it is a basic strategy. The analysis page for UTH indicates that deviations between the basic strategy and perfect play cost 0.054% in element of risk terms. You can check these with the UTH strategy calculator.