Thread Rating:

beachbumbabs
Administrator
beachbumbabs
Joined: May 21, 2013
  • Threads: 97
  • Posts: 13916
November 9th, 2019 at 7:44:13 PM permalink
Box 2.

If chip is box 1, statements 1 and 2 are true.
If chip is box 2, only statement 3 is true.
If chip is box 3, statements 2 and 3 are true.
If the House lost every hand, they wouldn't deal the game.
Gialmere
Gialmere
Joined: Nov 26, 2018
  • Threads: 32
  • Posts: 881
November 10th, 2019 at 12:08:51 PM permalink
Quote: beachbumbabs

Box 2.

If chip is box 1, statements 1 and 2 are true.
If chip is box 2, only statement 3 is true.
If chip is box 3, statements 2 and 3 are true.


Winner! Winner! Chicken Dinner!!

------------------------------------

Dealer's Dilemma
Woohoo! You've won $500 dollars and the night is still young. Three other designers invite you up to a comped suite for a relaxing game of bridge. (By "relaxing" they mean that each player is wagering $500 on winning with partners splitting $1000.) Life in the fast lane, you think as you agree to play and hopefully do some networking. You head to the elevators.

It's a friendly game with no cheating. Since all players are designers (i.e. rule makers), however, strict table etiquette is observed. As things progress, the game is very close and it's your turn to deal. Then, in the middle of distributing the cards, you get an important cell call from the company delivering your CE booth supplies. You immediately excuse yourself from the table. There's a shipping holdup, but it can be quickly resolved if you grease a few union palms. You sigh and agree to the new terms hoping you win the bridge game to cover the new expenses.

You return to the table and (horror of horrors) realize you forgot where you left off with the deal. The other players (who have been drinking and talking shop) don't remember either. How embarrassing. Is there a way for you to correctly finish the deal without prolonging the awkward moment by counting all the cards dealt or that remain in the deck? Should you declare a misdeal?

Have you tried 22 tonight? I said 22.
charliepatrick
charliepatrick
Joined: Jun 17, 2011
  • Threads: 30
  • Posts: 1781
Thanks for this post from:
beachbumbabsMrCasinoGames
November 10th, 2019 at 1:21:40 PM permalink
Co-incidentally I was playing teams of eight today (don't ask!)
If the players are happy you start from yourself and deal backwards (i.e. counterclockwise).

If the players want the same cards they would have got, then you deal the cards, one at a time, onto a pile and then deal that as above. For instance you were due to get the 52nd card, the the last card would now be at the top of the pile. East would get the 51st card, now 2nd on the pile, etc.
Gialmere
Gialmere
Joined: Nov 26, 2018
  • Threads: 32
  • Posts: 881
Thanks for this post from:
MrCasinoGames
November 11th, 2019 at 9:07:31 PM permalink
Quote: charliepatrick

Co-incidentally I was playing teams of eight today (don't ask!)

If the players are happy you start from yourself and deal backwards (i.e. counterclockwise).

If the players want the same cards they would have got, then you deal the cards, one at a time, onto a pile and then deal that as above. For instance you were due to get the 52nd card, the the last card would now be at the top of the pile. East would get the 51st card, now 2nd on the pile, etc.


Winner! Winner! Chicken Dinner!!
(Combined your responses are close enough.)

Since bridge is a four player game where all the cards are distributed, the dealer will always receive the last card. Knowing this, you can quickly rectify the situation by dealing the first card at the bottom of the deck to yourself (the dealer) and continue dealing from the bottom of the deck backwards around the table. Doing this will give each player the cards they were meant to receive, show which player you left off at, and make you look smart all at the same time (assuming you're not accused of cheating).


---------------------------------



Calendar Cubes
Well done! You've won the bridge game and now have two $500 dollar chips. You decide to cash them in at the cashiers cage before you go to bed so you'll have money on hand for tomorrow's early deliveries. As you leave the cage you pass by a gift shop and see a block calendar in the window. It occurs to you that, properly themed, such a calendar would make a clever advertising giveaway if you ever design a dice game.

Heading up the elevator you wonder about the numbers on the blocks. Off hand it doesn't seem like there's enough faces. Hmm... You decide to figure it out before bed. What numbers must be placed on each cube?

Cube #1 numbers = ?
Cube #2 numbers = ?

Have you tried 22 tonight? I said 22.
unJon
unJon
Joined: Jul 1, 2018
  • Threads: 10
  • Posts: 1259
Thanks for this post from:
JoemanGialmereMrCasinoGames
November 11th, 2019 at 9:23:22 PM permalink
Fun. Guess based on an assumption.

Both cubes have to have 0 to get through 01 to 09. Both cubes need a 1 and 2 for 11 and 22. That leaves 7 numbers and only 6 spaces. So letís assume the side with 6 can do double duty as a 9 when upside down? If that works then:

Cube 1 can have 0-5. Cube 2 can have 0-2 and 6-8 with the 6 serving as a 9 sometimes.
The race is not always to the swift, nor the battle to the strong; but that is the way to bet.
Gialmere
Gialmere
Joined: Nov 26, 2018
  • Threads: 32
  • Posts: 881
Thanks for this post from:
MrCasinoGames
November 12th, 2019 at 4:46:36 PM permalink
Quote: unJon

Fun. Guess based on an assumption.

Both cubes have to have 0 to get through 01 to 09. Both cubes need a 1 and 2 for 11 and 22. That leaves 7 numbers and only 6 spaces. So letís assume the side with 6 can do double duty as a 9 when upside down? If that works then:

Cube 1 can have 0-5. Cube 2 can have 0-2 and 6-8 with the 6 serving as a 9 sometimes.


Winner! Winner! Chicken Dinner!!

Absolutely correct. On a side note, the two-cube calendar was originally created, not as a commercial product, but simply as a math/logic riddle.


-------------------------------

Mate Mystery
With the cubes solved you try to get some sleep but, between the excitement and worry, it's only for a few hours. Oh well. You have to be there at the crack of dawn to receive the delayed shipments anyways. You go down to the booth area, set up what you can and start what you hope will be a short wait.

On a nearby table you see a newspaper and a few magazines. One of these is a chess periodical and you flip to the problems section hoping to pass the time. You decide to start with an easy problem and see a "white mates in one". You stare at it ... then sit down and stare some more.

White Mates in One...

Have you tried 22 tonight? I said 22.
charliepatrick
charliepatrick
Joined: Jun 17, 2011
  • Threads: 30
  • Posts: 1781
November 13th, 2019 at 2:53:12 AM permalink
It's actually an impossible board as all 32 pieces are still on the board, for two pawns to be in the same column one of them must have taken something.
That was a hint!
beachbumbabs
Administrator
beachbumbabs
Joined: May 21, 2013
  • Threads: 97
  • Posts: 13916
November 13th, 2019 at 10:18:03 AM permalink
I don't speak chess nomenclature (sorry for my ignorance, Ed!), but if the white bishop on the dark squares moves northeast to take the black pawn, all the king's moves are covered, and he is in check.

White knight covers move N. Same bishop covers move NE and SW. Current position is in check. All other possible black king squares are occupied, and he can't take his own piece.


ETA. OK, I see why my solution doesn't work. But I also don't understand the arcane abbreviations and specialized move referenced, so I'll bow out.
Last edited by: beachbumbabs on Nov 13, 2019
If the House lost every hand, they wouldn't deal the game.
gordonm888
gordonm888
Joined: Feb 18, 2015
  • Threads: 34
  • Posts: 2067
Thanks for this post from:
Gialmere
November 13th, 2019 at 10:56:17 AM permalink
The only way this can be solved is if the black pawn on E5 has just moved forward two spaces. In that case P(D5) X P(E5) en passant. The pawn on D5 goes to E6 uncovering the white Bishop's attack on the Black King, Checkmate. Thank You CP for hint.
Last edited by: gordonm888 on Nov 13, 2019
So many better men, a few of them friends, were dead. And a thousand thousand slimy things lived on, and so did I.
charliepatrick
charliepatrick
Joined: Jun 17, 2011
  • Threads: 30
  • Posts: 1781
November 13th, 2019 at 11:01:44 AM permalink
^ The writing for your move is B x e5 ch (Bishop, takes piece on, e5; check). While the King cannot move Black's reply is to take the Bishop using the Pawn at d6: P x e5 (i.e. the Pawn, takes the, Bishop).
If only you could get rid of that Pawn!

  • Jump to: