Poll

1 vote (6.25%)
11 votes (68.75%)
4 votes (25%)

16 members have voted

WizardofEngland
WizardofEngland
Joined: Nov 2, 2010
  • Threads: 61
  • Posts: 638
January 24th, 2011 at 12:56:37 PM permalink
A player first to act after the 100/200 blinds announces raise. Places 200 in the pot, and then contemplates his raise amount. The next player to act sees the initial 200 chips go in and announces call.
Player one points out that he has yet to make the raise, and so the next player has to call whatever amount he decides to raise.
Player two states he thought we were still on the last blind level, and that player one had made a min-raise.

How would you rule?
http://wizardofvegas.com/forum/off-topic/general/10042-woes-black-sheep-game-ii/#post151727
Croupier
Croupier
Joined: Nov 15, 2009
  • Threads: 58
  • Posts: 1258
January 24th, 2011 at 1:06:43 PM permalink
As player 1's action has not been completed, play is returned to player 1 until his action is complete. Player 2 then has the full range of options.

Although I hit the wrong vote. I meant something else.
[This space is intentionally left blank]
Ayecarumba
Ayecarumba
Joined: Nov 17, 2009
  • Threads: 231
  • Posts: 6515
January 24th, 2011 at 4:56:26 PM permalink
Quote: Croupier

As player 1's action has not been completed, play is returned to player 1 until his action is complete. Player 2 then has the full range of options.

Although I hit the wrong vote. I meant something else.



+1
Simplicity is the ultimate sophistication - Leonardo da Vinci
AZDuffman
AZDuffman
Joined: Nov 2, 2009
  • Threads: 218
  • Posts: 11068
January 24th, 2011 at 6:24:23 PM permalink
Quote: WizardofEngland

A player first to act after the 100/200 blinds announces raise. Places 200 in the pot, and then contemplates his raise amount. The next player to act sees the initial 200 chips go in and announces call.
Player one points out that he has yet to make the raise, and so the next player has to call whatever amount he decides to raise.
Player two states he thought we were still on the last blind level, and that player one had made a min-raise.

How would you rule?



Player 1 violated the "no stringing bets" rule. Placing $200 in the pot without saying "raise" at the same time is not allowed and should be ruled as a call. The next player can then call or raise.
Tolerance is the virtue of believing in nothing
P90
P90
Joined: Jan 8, 2011
  • Threads: 12
  • Posts: 1703
January 24th, 2011 at 6:33:58 PM permalink
Quote: WizardofEngland

Places 200 in the pot, and then contemplates his raise amount.


A player can't do that. The decision to call or raise has to be made before actually announcing or executing it. Once it's been announced or executed, it is final.
Resist ANFO Boston PRISM Stormfront IRA Freedom CIA Obama
cellardoor
cellardoor
Joined: Jan 4, 2011
  • Threads: 1
  • Posts: 70
January 24th, 2011 at 6:34:48 PM permalink
Quote: AZDuffman

Player 1 violated the "no stringing bets" rule. Placing $200 in the pot without saying "raise" at the same time is not allowed and should be ruled as a call. The next player can then call or raise.



I read it as he announced 'raise' then put the call amount into the pot while then contemplating the amount of his raise.

In any poker room I've played in, I'm allowed to take my time and put my raise amount into the pot in multiple stacks if I verbally announce 'raise' prior to me placing any chips into the pot. If player 1 did not announce raise until the $200 was in the pot then I do agree it's a string bet.
DJTeddyBear
DJTeddyBear
Joined: Nov 2, 2009
  • Threads: 176
  • Posts: 10066
January 24th, 2011 at 6:35:01 PM permalink
AZ -

The player DID announce raise.
Superstitions are silly, childish, irrational rituals, born out of fear of the unknown. But how much does it cost to knock on wood? 😁 Note that the same could be said for Religion. I.E. Religion is nothing more than organized superstition. 🤗
P90
P90
Joined: Jan 8, 2011
  • Threads: 12
  • Posts: 1703
January 24th, 2011 at 6:40:42 PM permalink
Quote: DJTeddyBear

The player DID announce raise.


Then it's situational, depends on how much time passed since he placed his chips in. If it's a reasonable time that he would still need to add all the chips, then it's still his turn. But raise size should be decided before putting the chips in.
Resist ANFO Boston PRISM Stormfront IRA Freedom CIA Obama
mkl654321
mkl654321
Joined: Aug 8, 2010
  • Threads: 65
  • Posts: 3412
January 24th, 2011 at 6:59:57 PM permalink
Quote: P90

A player can't do that. The decision to call or raise has to be made before actually announcing or executing it. Once it's been announced or executed, it is final.



The verbal declaration before making any physical move with the chips allows a player to do exactly that. The rule/practice actually helps the dealer as much as the player.
The fact that a believer is happier than a skeptic is no more to the point than the fact that a drunken man is happier than a sober one. The happiness of credulity is a cheap and dangerous quality.---George Bernard Shaw
P90
P90
Joined: Jan 8, 2011
  • Threads: 12
  • Posts: 1703
January 24th, 2011 at 7:23:44 PM permalink
Quote: mkl654321

The verbal declaration before making any physical move with the chips allows a player to do exactly that. The rule/practice actually helps the dealer as much as the player.


Yeah, I missed the part about announcing the raise first.
Resist ANFO Boston PRISM Stormfront IRA Freedom CIA Obama

  • Jump to: