billryan
billryan
Joined: Nov 2, 2009
  • Threads: 202
  • Posts: 12047
April 5th, 2019 at 7:29:30 AM permalink
Home game of hold em.
I have K,6. Community cards are K ,8,,8, 2, J. Player has K,10.
So I have two pair, Kings and 8s, as does the other player. Do we go to the fifth card? If so, the J on the board outrank either card we hold. Player B insists he wins since his 10 beats my 6. I think the community J makes it a tie. Do we divide the pot? I play next to no poker, and the others at the table have less experience. As the pot was almost four dollars, I chose not to argue but who was right?
The difference between fiction and reality is that fiction is supposed to make sense.
Wizard
Administrator
Wizard
Joined: Oct 14, 2009
  • Threads: 1398
  • Posts: 23607
April 5th, 2019 at 7:36:11 AM permalink
Yes, you do go to the fifth card. It's a chopped pot, because both players have KK88J.

Sometimes I get asked if a sixth is used to break the tie, to which the answer is no.
It's not whether you win or lose; it's whether or not you had a good bet.
billryan
billryan
Joined: Nov 2, 2009
  • Threads: 202
  • Posts: 12047
April 5th, 2019 at 8:16:34 AM permalink
Thank you. The rules I looked up were a bit ambiguous.
The difference between fiction and reality is that fiction is supposed to make sense.
AxelWolf
AxelWolf
Joined: Oct 10, 2012
  • Threads: 151
  • Posts: 20040
April 7th, 2019 at 12:41:05 PM permalink
Not really anything to do with this particular hand, but I have seen many times where people will fold when the nutz is on board. Assuming the max rake has been achieved, always go all in in that situation since sometimes someone will fold.
♪♪Now you swear and kick and beg us That you're not a gamblin' man Then you find you're back in Vegas With a handle in your hand♪♪ Your black cards can make you money So you hide them when you're able In the land of casinos and money You must put them on the table♪♪ You go back Jack do it again roulette wheels turinin' 'round and 'round♪♪ You go back Jack do it again♪♪
Rigondeaux
Rigondeaux
Joined: Aug 18, 2014
  • Threads: 30
  • Posts: 2537
April 7th, 2019 at 6:05:16 PM permalink
I saw a hand where the board was an ace high straight with no flush possible. So the best hand possible was the board.

Player A bets. Player B thinks for a while and raises, but seems uncertain. Player A takes a minute to process all this, then decides to go all in. Player B thinks some more and folds.

Similarly, if you are already all in and the board is a straight or whatever, don't say anything. You might often want to table your hand very quickly and let your opponent have a chance to fold.

I once had AK on a runnout of 23456. Flipped my hand over immediately. The Villain saw that my ace gave me a 5 high straight, but not that the 6 gave us both a higher straight and folded.

Say the board is 56789. If you table QQ right away, someone might fold AK.
ksdjdj
ksdjdj
Joined: Oct 20, 2013
  • Threads: 80
  • Posts: 931
April 7th, 2019 at 6:48:19 PM permalink
Quote: billryan

...who was right?


Texas = you, Greek = Player B

Player B may have thought you were playing Greek (Tight) hold 'em.
Usually when people say they are playing hold 'em they mean Texas hold 'em, so you were most likely right.

  • Jump to: