Thread Rating:

EvenBob
EvenBob
  • Threads: 441
June 18th, 2023 at 11:43:00 AM permalink
Quote: Dieter

Quote: lilredrooster

The university library two towns over would let almost anyone in to look through the stacks and read in the library, but only university students and paid library members had check-out privileges for the good stuff.)

I believe libraries - much more so public libraries then university libraries - are very people friendly places

librarians where I live will help people with all sorts of things other than just finding books

they're so different than the typical Government run organizations

link to original post

By unrelated circumstance, librarians are among my favored professionals to party with.
link to original post

I have a secondary degree in library science because I wanted to be a librarian. My primary degree is in American history but neither of those jobs of history teacher or librarian paid with a crap in the early 1970s so I never went into either one of them. I loved libraries when I was a kid and wished I lived in the library. In my bedroom I have three walls of books floor to ceiling and I've read all of them. I wish I had the books I got rid of years ago, I had a huge science fiction collection which I got rid of when I moved to California. Really stupid.
"It's not called gambling if the math is on your side."
Dieter
Administrator
Dieter
  • Threads: 16
Thanked by
gordonm888
June 18th, 2023 at 12:35:56 PM permalink
Quote: EvenBob

The university library two towns over would let almost anyone in to look through the stacks and read in the library, but only university students and paid library members had check-out privileges for the good stuff.)

I believe libraries - much more so public libraries then university libraries - are very people friendly places

librarians where I live will help people with all sorts of things other than just finding books

link to original post