1 vote (25%)
3 votes (75%)
No votes (0%)

4 members have voted

vert1276
vert1276
  • Threads: 70
August 26th, 2011 at 6:14:08 PM permalink
SO wanted to make a poll about a debate I had a couple days ago.....I was giving a guest lecture at a local college(that I attended),,,I know the professor well and used to give lectures there when I was an economist at WaMu...but its been a couple of years since I have spoke to an econ class... I do the same thing now but at a private equity firm but still work primarily with bonds....The topic of credit default swaps came up....and how they should have been regulated as insurance products instead of OTC derivatives...and how we wouldn't be in the mess we are in now if they were......and how it was lack of regulation that allowed this to happen.....

I was trying to point out that regulation doesn't always mean less risk to the economy....I pointed out the regulation of FDIC.....and forcing banks with depositors to have it does the same thing as CDS.....I was trying to point out to them that when you deposit you money in the bank that you are taking a risk....becasue the bank will be lending out 90% or so of the money you deposit.....this is why they pay you interest....becasue of the risk...BUT the interest they pay you doesn't represent the risk you are really taking.....The banks get away with paying you less interest becasue of the "illusion" your money is safe because of FDIC.....Just like people buying CDO's had the "illusion" there bond investment was safe becasue of credit default swaps.....I was trying to explain that credit default swaps and the lack of regulation and the regulation of FDIC are really just 2 different sides of the same coin......