Thread Rating:

EvenBob
EvenBob
  • Threads: 441
January 8th, 2011 at 8:04:39 PM permalink
I hope to get some useful info from this thread. In MI, where I live, the speed limit on the freeway is 70mph. But you can safely do 79 and you'll never get a ticket. I've been doing it for 25 years, had state cops right behind me the whole time. Do 80 and you're toast. Yet in OH, where the limit is 65, if you do over 70, thats it. And if you get a prick cop, he'll write you for doing 67. How does it work in your state?
"It's not called gambling if the math is on your side."
AZDuffman
AZDuffman
  • Threads: 240
January 8th, 2011 at 8:13:34 PM permalink
Quote: EvenBob

I hope to get some useful info from this thread. In MI, where I live, the speed limit on the freeway is 70mph. But you can safely do 79 and you'll never get a ticket. I've been doing it for 25 years, had state cops right behind me the whole time. Do 80 and you're toast. Yet in OH, where the limit is 65, if you do over 70, thats it. And if you get a prick cop, he'll write you for doing 67. How does it work in your state?

There is an "85th percentile rule" or something like it saying the speed limit should be set at the speed the top 85% of vehicles travel. I've never been in a state where they will write you up for < 5mph over. This seems to give benefit of the doubt to someone who just didn't pay attention to callibration of the radar gun. In OK there is a big sign saying "Speed Limit 75 mph NO TOLERANCE."

Back in AZ I sometimes would be going with to just over the flow of traffic in a 75 zone and look down and see I was doing 100! No cops around, luckily.

On my way across the country in NM I wanted to see how fast she would go since I saw no cops. I did 105 on level. On a very small downgrade I wound it up to 110 and my speedometer said I hit top end. Had my foot glued like lead to the floor. That's all she had there was no more.
All animals are equal, but some are more equal than others
RaleighCraps