SeaBacon
SeaBacon
  • Threads: 1
November 24th, 2018 at 2:59:19 AM permalink
Using the Online blackjack practice with "warn on strategy errors enabled". Wanted to ask the wizard on this because I'm still new to card counting. Assuming it might be an issue with the rules of the game.

Anyways, according to the "illustrious 18" on your site, if you have a hard 16 against a 10 and the count is +0 or higher it says you should stand.

I currently have a 10,6 vs a dealer 10. True count is +1 (+4 with 4.33 decks left).

Hand analyzer shows Stand being at -0.549, and hit being at -0.533

Now obviously the choices are very close in their odds, being a difference of .016% which is almost insignificant because you would never be able to calculate that at the table. However, I just want to make sure I'm using the counting system correctly.

Rules are as follows:

8 decks, 75% penetration.
Peeks for BJ
pays 3:2 on BJ
can split up to 3 times, aces only once with one card.
Double on any 2 cards, including after splits
No surrender allowed

Using the standard Hi-lo count

Edit: Same rules as above, ran into this scenario:

6,10 vs a 10. Running count is -10, 3.29 decks left for a true count of ~-3.

-0.5496 for Stand
-.05828 for hit, so software recommends standing....

A,2,9 against dealer 2. Running count is -6, 4 decks left for a true count of -1
rule states hard 12 against a 2, hit as long as true count is less than 3
Hand analyzer shows:
-0.262 for standing
-0.264 for hitting
so recommends standing....

I could understand the first example above as it's a very borderline case, but this one doesn't seem to make sense at all as it should heavily favor hitting.

My only guess is it's taking into account every card that's actually left and not going by the hi-lo count recommendations. ie even though the count is negative, the deck is still rich in 6-9 cards, making it unfavorable to hit.
Last edited by: SeaBacon on Nov 24, 2018
SOOPOO
SOOPOO
  • Threads: 121