Poll

1 vote (7.14%)
5 votes (35.71%)
9 votes (64.28%)

14 members have voted

beachbumbabs
Administrator
beachbumbabs
Joined: May 21, 2013
  • Threads: 99
  • Posts: 14229
October 3rd, 2018 at 10:34:37 PM permalink
Quote: DRich

Very true. In the Dodgers Rockies game on Monday the pitcher had four strikeouts in a half inning tying a record. A pitcher has never had 5.

Surprisingly, it happened three times this year in the MLB. It happened 8 times in 2012.



OK, you lost me. How does the 4th guy get pitched to, let alone struck out?
If the House lost every hand, they wouldn't deal the game.
billryan
billryan
Joined: Nov 2, 2009
  • Threads: 172
  • Posts: 9609
October 3rd, 2018 at 11:01:46 PM permalink
If the third strike is a swing and a wild pitch or passed ball, the runner can take first if he gets there before the ball can get thrown there.
There was a ridiculous NCAA game where the pitcher had a no hitter but gave up about six runs on wild pitches, with twenty strikeouts or so.
beachbumbabs
Administrator
beachbumbabs
Joined: May 21, 2013
  • Threads: 99
  • Posts: 14229
October 3rd, 2018 at 11:04:31 PM permalink
Quote: billryan

If the third strike is a swing and a wild pitch or passed ball, the runner can take first if he gets there before the ball can get thrown there.
There was a ridiculous NCAA game where the pitcher had a no hitter but gave up about six runs on wild pitches, with twenty strikeouts or so.



Aha! Thanks. That makes sense.

So is wild pitch or passed ball a judgement call that assigns the error to pitcher or catcher? Same result, right? The runner gets on.
If the House lost every hand, they wouldn't deal the game.
RS
RS
Joined: Feb 11, 2014
  • Threads: 62
  • Posts: 8623
October 3rd, 2018 at 11:31:07 PM permalink
More baseball "trivia" for those interested....

What is the fewest number of total pitches necessary for a full complete game (it can end after 8.5 innings, where the home team [bats last] is winning)?

For those who don't know -- in extra innings (overtime), if the home team scores such that they are ahead by the other team by at least 1 run, the game is immediately over. If a game goes to extra innings, what is the most amount of runs a team can win by?


No pitches are necessary, as a pitcher can intentionally walk batters without throwing a pitch. He can walk or balk runners home such that at least one team scores and wins (necessary for a game to end). He can pick off the runners, as well, for all the outs.



There is no limit for the away team, since the home team will still have an at bat.
GWAE
GWAE
Joined: Sep 20, 2013
  • Threads: 93
  • Posts: 9854
Thanks for this post from:
beachbumbabs
October 4th, 2018 at 12:28:51 AM permalink
Quote: beachbumbabs

Aha! Thanks. That makes sense.

So is wild pitch or passed ball a judgement call that assigns the error to pitcher or catcher? Same result, right? The runner gets on.



That is correct.
Expect the worst and you will never be disappointed. I AM NOT PART OF GWAE RADIO SHOW
michael99000
michael99000
Joined: Jul 10, 2010
  • Threads: 9
  • Posts: 2112
October 4th, 2018 at 1:07:12 PM permalink
Quote: beachbumbabs

Aha! Thanks. That makes sense.

So is wild pitch or passed ball a judgement call that assigns the error to pitcher or catcher? Same result, right? The runner gets on.



Passed balls and wild pitches are both not recorded as errors on the pitcher or catcher.

The only difference between the two is if a run scores on the play, itís an unearned run if it was scored as a passed ball
FinsRule
FinsRule
Joined: Dec 23, 2009
  • Threads: 119
  • Posts: 3667
October 4th, 2018 at 1:26:48 PM permalink
Quote: michael99000

Passed balls and wild pitches are both not recorded as errors on the pitcher or catcher.

The only difference between the two is if a run scores on the play, itís an unearned run if it was scored as a passed ball



Not sure why a passed ball is not an error. Thatís baseball for you.
GWAE
GWAE
Joined: Sep 20, 2013
  • Threads: 93
  • Posts: 9854
October 4th, 2018 at 1:33:02 PM permalink
Quote: FinsRule

Not sure why a passed ball is not an error. Thatís baseball for you.



Because it is part of the pitching sequence and not a fielding sequence. They keep separate stats for those such as wild pitch and passed ball.
Expect the worst and you will never be disappointed. I AM NOT PART OF GWAE RADIO SHOW
smoothgrh
smoothgrh
Joined: Oct 26, 2011
  • Threads: 65
  • Posts: 629
October 4th, 2018 at 4:01:07 PM permalink
Thank you for the research, Sally.

I apologize for being a jerk in my previous posting.

  • Jump to: