michael99000
michael99000
  • Threads: 9
Thanks for this post from:
MDawg
May 8th, 2019 at 8:07:53 PM permalink
Quote: FinsRule

The homeless shaming of DarkOz is uncalled for and overplayed.

Maybe we can move on? Iím sure we canít.

The proper move in this case is to split off the homeless shaming of darkoz to its own thread.
TomG
TomG
  • Threads: 13
May 8th, 2019 at 10:43:22 PM permalink
Quote: MaxPen

I'm trying to figure out what leverage these drivers think they have and how they think this strike can benefit them.

The biggest leverage they have is in unity. The very nature of the job could give them more unity and leverage than usual. A major reason people drive for Uber is to set their own hours and take time off whenever they want. If I was a driver I would absolutely join the strike, because the benefits would far outweigh any negatives: I get a day to do something anything else I could want and there is a chance it could help raise wages. The only downside would be a loss of a few days pay, which I could easily make up some other way or simply go without.

Quote: MaxPen

Uber should prioritize the apps of those who stayed on during the shutdown in the coming months.

That could be crushing to them. Lawyers would be lined up ready to argue that prioritizing drivers who work the hours Uber wants them to work pushes them too close to employee instead of private contractor. The bigger problem is that it would destroy one of the biggest benefits for being a driver: working for someone who encourages you to work whenever you want. Take that away and they may as well drive a cab or do anything else that also offers health insurance and all the other stuff than comes from punching the clock on someone else's schedule. The only drivers left would be the people who couldn't get hired for any other job
AZDuffman
AZDuffman
  • Threads: 219
May 9th, 2019 at 2:34:02 AM permalink
Quote: lilredrooster

it's now what I do in my trading