ruascott
ruascott
  • Threads: 17
July 7th, 2010 at 4:54:42 PM permalink
I'm writing this blog from a computer that was built in 2002, running an AMD Athalon 1.2GHZ, and Windows XP. It is as slow as heck, BUT AT LEAST IT WORKS.

Though I am no tech expert by any means, I am convinced that Windows 7 SUCKS!. I had one Sony Vaio laptop completely crash within a few months of "upgrading" from Vista (BTW, we never had one problem with Vista). The Vaio was maybe 10 months old. While that one was in for repairs, last week I bought a new Toshiba laptop with the new Intel I3 chip. Its been less than a week and I have had nothing but headaches with this machine. Huge trouble setting up my wireless printer, computer freezes all the time, sleep mode puts the thing to sleep for good, etc...

I ran a Windows update last night and now the Toshiba will not even boot up. The computer is less than 7 days old.

Anyone else out there running W7? What are your feelings?
Nareed
Nareed
  • Threads: 373
July 7th, 2010 at 5:08:50 PM permalink
I haven't tried Win7 yet.

Some years ago I upgraded an old Compaq from Win95 to win98. It was disastrous. The machine slowed to a crawl until I added 32MB more RAM. And I had audio issues until I downgraded the audio driver to the older Win95 version. Perhaps your Vaio would improve with a hardware upgrade, but that's usually not worth it for a laptop.

As for the Toshiba, sometimes laptops go bad. about two years ago we bought two identical Vaios for the office. One ran perfectly, no problems at all, the other was a mess from the start. We fixed it by persuading the seller to exchange it.
Donald Trump is a fucking criminal
ruascott
ruascott
July 7th, 2010 at 5:34:27 PM permalink
But the Sony was not an old machine...less than 12 months and fortunately still under manf warranty. It runs an Intel Dual Core processor, so an hardware upgrade is not necessary. It came preloaded with Vista, but included a free upgrade to Win7.
ruascott
ruascott