michael99000
michael99000
  • Threads: 9
April 24th, 2014 at 12:21:21 AM permalink
I saw a topic on DT in regards to weight lifting, discussing what is the best way to go about it (machines vs free weights, how many sets/reps, how often per week), as well as whether it's good or not to mix in cardio on the same days you weight train, or do cardio on off days, or can you just achieve all your goals, whether it be health or how you look.. Just through lifting weights.

I'll start by saying, I just turned 40 and I've been lifting weights for 17 years, 4-5 days a week without ever having stopped besides for illness or vacations.. I consider the day I joined the gym in 1997 to be one of the most important days of my life, as that decision has helped me be a much healthier person at 40 than I otherwise would've been. And hopefully I'll be able to say the same for 50, 60, and 70. I saw in another thread that Buzzard is lifting weights at 73 and I think that's awesome .

Does anyone else here exercise regularly, whether it be weight training or cardio? I don't know a lot about the mechanics of how the human body reacts to certain things, I'm not one to buy books about it or watch the videos put out by experts... Everything I've learned has come from 1. Talking to guys at my gym who know more than me, or 2. My own experiences. In 17 years that's amounted to a lot but there's always much more to learn.

My favorite exercise is the sitting overhead shoulder press with dumbells. I still recall the day I started , I was using 20 pound dumbells and it seemed like a lot, and my final set now is with 90 lbs. Although twice I've tore a muscle trying to get those weights from resting on my knees up to my over shoulder just to begin the exercise. I can't figure out the proper way
RogerKint
RogerKint
  • Threads: 15
April 24th, 2014 at 12:31:01 AM permalink
Quote: michael99000