RS
RS
  • Threads: 62
May 10th, 2019 at 6:38:06 AM permalink
Quote: TomG

The idea is to make a better experience for the customer. For me, that would happen by letting management negotiate wages with their employees instead of forcing their customers to do it. I'm going to tip just over 20% and almost never have I seen service that made me deviate from that. And that's on the high end. So every time I go to a restaurant, I'm hit in the face with the idea that I'm subsidizing the wages for the cheapskates and foreigners.

What experience for the customer are you talking about? I have no idea how my experience would be better if management negotiated wages with their employees instead of me tipping. I'm not so worried about figuring out what 20% of my bill is...but if you think your experience would be better to be forced to pay that 20% instead of optionally, despite the level of service, idk what to say.

Side bar: If they're going to be free to negotiate wages, can we finally get rid of minimum wage?
Note: Minimum wage laws still apply. If a 'tipped employee' doesn't meet the $8.25/hr (after tips) or whatever minimum wage is, the employer is required to pay the difference.

I say let the market decide -- and so far, the market has decided that it's acceptable for people to work for practically nothing knowing they're very likely going to get tips from the customers. If an employee wants to work for $1/hr and the boss agrees, let them. AFAIK, strippers have to PAY to work.

The reason I can't buy this theory is because we tip at the end of a meal, so no matter what I tip, it would have no effect on the service I get. Based on this logic, if tips improve service, that means the service I receive is based on whatever the previous guys paid. And whatever I pay is essentially paying for the service the next customers. If anyone really felt this way, the argument should be that we should tip at the beginning of the meal.