Buzzard
Buzzard
  • Threads: 90
June 28th, 2014 at 5:51:07 PM permalink
Have fun John. I'm done before I get suspended for asking a question about bed linens.
Shed not for her the bitter tear Nor give the heart to vain regret Tis but the casket that lies here, The gem that filled it Sparkles yet
Greasyjohn
Greasyjohn
  • Threads: 135
June 29th, 2014 at 1:03:25 AM permalink
Quote: Buzzard

Babs darlin " People just want to be accepted, to be part of a community, to be productive, to have friends, family, to live their life with some purpose."

STRAIGHT PEOPLE THAT IS ! John don't want no gays. NO WAY

I mentioned in my OP that I have three friends that are gay. One I met when I was 14. He was 23 . I was a sophomore in high school and he was a brother that taught there. He befriended me. I didn't fit in at this all boys Catholic school. I wasn't into sports. My friends all went to public school but my mother thought that a private school would be more academic. I grew to love Brother Joe. I got attached to him and we occasionally got together outside of school. My mom knew how much I liked him.

Brother Joe took a vow to be there for all people and not fall into personal relationships that would cause him to focus on any individual, so he cooled his relationship with me. I did not understand this and one day between classes he told me why he had become aloof towards me. I wept. We were friends for the next couple years until I graduated but didn't really hang out as before. Four years after I graduated my mom died and I went to his monastery to visit him. After this he moved to Florida to become a Father. We exchanged a few letters over the next year or so and then drifted apart.

Then some five years later he came back go California. We went out to dinner and he told me he was gay. I had never known or imagined that this was true. He told me that some 14 years earlier when he met my mom that she looked at him and knew he was gay but knew that I would be alright.