LarryS
LarryS
  • Threads: 67
February 6th, 2014 at 8:39:27 PM permalink
Ok. I have shared my views on questions asked in the medical field.....so for those that can please indulge me a question on a topic I am not an expert in it would be appreciated.

The question ahead of time:
should I call an electrician or a Furnace person

1-I have a 10 year old furnace in my sparks home that was new with the house. It was making noises but heated well. I had someone look at it and was told to let it go because it would almost be worth to get a new one rather than rebuild the part that needed fixing. He said the furnace could last a few years if I am lucky.

2- recently the furnace goes off.....and i need to flip the breaker system to get it to go on. I do not actually see a breaker switch flipped....but when i flip it off and on the furnace returns to working

it has happened 3 times in 3 weeks

sooooooo....who do I call...an electrician or a furnace person?

the worse thing is that the electrical box is outside...with a small padlock..so who really wants to go flip the breakers if it should hapoen at 3 am
rainman
rainman
  • Threads: 18
February 6th, 2014 at 8:48:09 PM permalink
Furnace guy. flipping the breaker is most likely resetting the ignitor.
BleedingChipsSlowly
BleedingChipsSlowly
  • Threads: 23
February 6th, 2014 at 9:00:13 PM permalink
Short answer: furnace person. Someone specializing in furnaces is also familiar with the electrical components and how they interact with the other physical components. An electrician's field of expertise encompasses a hell of a lot more technology. An electrician might be able to figure out the problem based on general knowledge of furnace operations, but a furnace person is FAR more likely to have a needed furnace repair part in his truck.