Thread Rating:

DRich
DRich
  • Threads: 69
June 20th, 2019 at 7:19:35 AM permalink
Quote: FleaStiff

Planes? I recall a 727(?) that was descending VFR when he spotted a Cessna 182 Skyhawk and went into a climbing turn passing the now-diving Skyhawk close enough to count rivets. Obviously I survived it and went on to become a crisis actor in the great diabetes fake news scam.

When I was a student pilot I was doing my first flight into a big airport. I radio the tower and tell them I am a student and would like to land. The controller comes on and says be on the lookout for American xxx Heavy in front of me. He said just follow that DC-10 to runway 25 Left, then with a dramatic pause, "But, not too close". Duh, that DC-10 would have sent my Cessna 150 spinning out of control.
Living longer does not always infer +EV
TigerWu
TigerWu
  • Threads: 18
June 20th, 2019 at 8:23:20 AM permalink
Quote: MDawg

Plus those were the days when I was flying to Vegas or Tahoe about every three weeks and I'd routinely show up within thirty minutes of departure with baggage to check, no problemo.

You can still do that at smaller, regional airports. You show up an hour early at those places, and you're waiting around at the terminal for 45 minutes.
DRich
DRich
  • Threads: 69
June 20th, 2019 at 8:57:55 AM permalink
Quote: TigerWu

You can still do that at smaller, regional airports. You show up an hour early at those places, and you're waiting around at the terminal for 45 minutes.

When I used to travel almost every week for work, I had it down to where I could get to the airport just as they were getting ready to close the airplane door. Amazingly, I only missed one flight for being late over many years.
Living longer does not always infer +EV
Joeman
Joeman
  • Threads: 33
June 20th, 2019 at 9:51:28 AM permalink
Quote: DRich