Doc
Doc
  • Threads: 46
April 5th, 2012 at 1:35:06 PM permalink
Quote: Paradigm

I am a CA CPA and based on my experience, it CA knows about you living here they aren't going to care that you have a P.O. Box or voting rights in Nevada.....if they find you, you will pay CA taxes.

Well, at least we finally have a post from someone who should know. My concern is the case of someone who owns several residential properties in different states and spends part of the year in each of them. And maybe vacations in another state for a few weeks and spends six weeks or so in a hotel in another state while there on business. If each of those states is claiming that you have to pay your taxes in that state, then I think they are being unreasonable.

As I said in the beginning, I don't know all of the details, but there certainly are cases where you have to declare which state is your residence and which other states are not. I own two residences in different states; I declared the date that I ceased to be a Georgia resident and became a North Carolina resident. In my case, that mostly corresponded to when I changed where I spent the bulk of my time. How much time can I spend in my house in Georgia without saying I am a resident there? I don't know. The most obvious examples are the folks who live the entire time in a motor home, moving from state to state. Some provisions of the so-called Patriot Act made that life-style difficult to adopt now, but the folks who do it have to declare some fixed spot as their residence.
Paradigm
Paradigm
  • Threads: 42
April 5th, 2012 at 2:29:26 PM permalink
The technical answer is part-year residence to two states depending on how much time in which residence. Very few folks actually do that "split", but it is the technical answer.