Thread Rating:

johnnyc
johnnyc
  • Threads: 5
June 24th, 2010 at 8:27:36 PM permalink
I'm a newbie and I have questions regarding some numbers I put together in this excel spreadsheet in google docs. I left the document in excel format because it uses features that the Google Docs format can not handle. I apologize in advance if I have made any rookie mistakes or errors. I did not see this topic discussed yet. I'm hoping my work is correct and that this leads to some good conversation.

This spreadsheet does a couple of things.

First, it uses the Expected Return (ER) tables from the wizard's blackjack appendix 1 to automatically reproduce the best play strategy that is presented in that same appendix. This is the top left chart (note that the chart colors are automatically generated using conditional formatting.)

The second thing the spreadsheet does is to calculate the probability of winning each possible play. For standing and
hitting plays I calculated the probability of winning using (ER + 1)/2. I got this formula using the following logic
where W equals the probability of winning and L equals the probability of losing:

ER = ($1 * W) - ($1 * L)
ER = (1 * W) - (1 * (1 - W)) // W + L = 1, so L = 1 - W
ER = 2W - 1
2W = ER + 1
W = (ER + 1)/2

For Doubling and Splitting plays, I calculated the probability of winning using (ER + 2)/4 obtain from:

ER = ($2 * W) - ($2 * L)
ER = (2 * W) - (2 * (1 - W))
ER = 4W - 2
4W = ER + 2
W = (ER + 2)/4

As you would expect, the calculated probabilities for winning a hand is less than 50% for negative ERs, and greater than 50% for positive ERs. This leads me to believe that these formulas are correct.