Dween
Dween
  • Threads: 66
September 30th, 2010 at 7:41:53 AM permalink
I am a Flash programmer, and enjoy making (and playing) games. This may be a pipe-dream, but if I (or anyone) were to create a spin-off or sequel to Dice Wars, what kind of features would you like to see?

I realize a lot of these questions, when answered "yes", would take away the simplicity that people enjoy about Dice Wars. Perhaps choosing only one or two of these options would be best, instead of piling them all into a new version.

Maps
Would you want randomized maps, or set maps you could choose?
Do you like the hex-based map, or would a square-grid based map be just as good?

Placement
Is the random placement ok, or would you like to pick your regions round-robin style?

Alliances/Teams
Would you like to be able to join forces with another player?
How about 2-player teams?

Different Dice
Do you prefer everyone having 6-sided dice?
What about 4-sided and 8-sided?

SidesMax DiceMin RollMax RollAvg Roll

Battles
Should a successful battle overtake a region outright?
Should a losing battle knock you down to one die?

Maneuvering
When winning a battle, should players be able to choose how many dice go into the taken-over region?
Should players be able to push dice through their territories, to bring more dice to the front lines?

Bonuses
Should certain rolls be worth more? (pairs, triples)
Should players have the opportunity to use Power Dice? (Power Dice always roll highest number)
How about Double Dice? (Die value is worth double)
Is random placement of end-of-turn bonus dice ok, or would you like to be able to choose where at least SOME of those dice go?

History
Do you like being able to watch the game again after completion?

Multi-Player
I think it's obvious from previous threads that people would love to play against other online players. However, this is out of my scope of programming ability.