GWAE
GWAE
  • Threads: 93
January 23rd, 2014 at 3:52:47 PM permalink
I have been saving everything for the last 10 years and it is starting to overflow my file cabinet. Each year I empty my hanging file folders and put them into envelopes and the then put the envelopes in the other drawers. I was going to make this a poll but I figured people may keep different documents different amounts of times. This is all for personal use and not what a business may keeps. So how long does everyone keep things?

1. Tax info (W2s, receipts, all other items used for filing taxes)
2. miscellaneous receipts
3. utility bills
4. credit card bills
5. insurance documents
6. paystubs
7. other items
Expect the worst and you will never be disappointed. I AM NOT PART OF GWAE RADIO SHOW
sodawater
sodawater
  • Threads: 64
January 23rd, 2014 at 3:58:22 PM permalink
you should get a scanner and keep them digitally.
1BB
1BB
  • Threads: 18
January 23rd, 2014 at 3:59:56 PM permalink
Three years.
Many people, especially ignorant people, want to punish you for speaking the truth. - Mahatma Ghandi
Face
Administrator
Face
  • Threads: 49
January 23rd, 2014 at 4:01:33 PM permalink
Quote: GWAE

I have been saving everything for the last 10 years and it is starting to overflow my file cabinet. Each year I empty my hanging file folders and put them into envelopes and the then put the envelopes in the other drawers. I was going to make this a poll but I figured people may keep different documents different amounts of times. This is all for personal use and not what a business may keeps. So how long does everyone keep things?

3. utility bills
4. credit card bills
5. insurance documents
6. paystubs
7. other items

1. Garbage
2. Garbage
3. Garbage
4. Garbage
5. Card goes in the truck, rest goes in the Garbage
6. Forever, so far.
7. Garbage.
The opinions of this moderator are for entertainment purposes only.
dwheatley
dwheatley
  • Threads: 25
January 23rd, 2014 at 5:04:44 PM permalink
Ontario resident: