Thread Rating:

Rio481
Rio481
  • Threads: 4
May 1st, 2016 at 11:10:48 PM permalink
I've been playing Blackjack almost exclusively for 25+ years. I play recreationally, but with a mind to win. I've played video poker a few times, usually just to kill a few minutes waiting for a dinner reservation. I'm considering increasing my VP play for a few reasons:
1) To add a bit of variety.
2) To earn some points/credits (almost no value in BJ any more) playing what seems to be a nearly break-even game.
3) To be able to gamble with my wife. She'll never play table games, but will play a simple video game occasionally.

So, on to my questions:
1) I'd like to start simple with single line JoB. I prefer to play something simple and play it well. Are JoB games with good pay tables available on the strip at the $1 level?
2) I took a quick read of the VP guide on this site, and the strategy for JoB seems straight forward enough. But it seems like this is a game where I'll see long stretches of dwindling bankroll, and occasionally hit the 4OAK/SF/RF that gets me back in the game. Similar to the slot jackpots and much more volatile than BJ. Is that a reasonable expectation?
3) I'm assuming since the big payoffs are so rare I should be prepared to play a very large number of hands to make it a break-even game (which makes me think I might be better off with a multi-line game?). Reasonable assumption?
4) What's a reasonable starting bankroll if I want to play several hours of single line JoB at the $1 level (playing 5 coin max bet of course)?
5) The strategy says that if you have more than 2 unsuited high cards to keep the lower 2. Just curious as to the reason behind this. In VP rank doesn't seem to matter except between high (J-A) and low (2-10) cards, so not sure why the preference for the lower ranked "high" cards.

Thanks in advance for any feedback.
abacabb
abacabb
  • Threads: 11
May 1st, 2016 at 11:37:45 PM permalink
1: No.