Zourah
Zourah
  • Threads: 4
September 6th, 2016 at 8:18:34 PM permalink
We had a decent start for the picks last week going 4-3 but a rough week straight up going 6-4. Obviously, it was a rough week for the Missouri Tigers but one that shouldn't have been completely unexpected given the turnover with players and the coaching staff (and the fact that we weren't all that great last year).

The offense looks somewhat better although I realize some of the statistics can be a bit misleading. I like the potential of Chris Black as a number one receiver and I certainly think Drew Lock is progressing. MU couldn't run the ball that well which is disappointing given we now have an elite talent at running back but the O Line was decent in pass protection and we all knew that wasn't going to be a strength of the team.

The defense was disappointing. I'm no football expert but I think at least part of this was due to a transition to a new scheme and West Virginia appeared to do a very nice job of calling plays to take advantage of MU when the Tigers did get overly aggressive.

After seeing all of the areas which need improvement, I think having a 6-6 season would be a disappointment by normal standards but would not be that bad for this rebuilding job and I do actually think we will reach that level. I'm still hopeful for seven wins but much less optimistic than I was a week ago.

There are a lot of winnable games on the schedule but it's unfortunate that Georgia looks the part of a Top Ten team since we play them next week. I'll be at as many games as possible no matter how the team is playing so let's hope for a few more wins.

This week won't tell us much

Eastern Michigan (+25) - I mean seriously, why would you bet on this game? EMU is coming off a blowout win over a MVSU team that more closely resembles a high school team than the team Jerry Rice played for. The Eagles were pretty horrible last year but they played a few teams close.